The Saltlist

Satire in the Age of Letters and Technology- more than just a pinch of it.

Divine intervention or just a state of trance?

 By: Sumedha Bharpilania

 

 

”St Stephen’s Cathedral or Stephansdom is one of the most impressive cathedrals in the city of Vienna in Austria. This 14th century marvel is famous for its Gothic meets modern architecture and its constant survival of fires and the atrocities of warfare.One of the highest buildings in Europe, this place of worship is one that is held in high regard as a symbol of Vienna’s freedom from the chains of the Second World War.

Credits: Sumedha Bharpilania

On a personal note,Stephansdom is mesmerizing. The entire structure is indeed a sight to see- the imposing tower with a spire that pierces the sky,the massive interiors, the intricate carvings, various forms of symbolism and priceless pieces of art- are all unforgettable. The eerie atmosphere inside the cathedral coupled with a paradoxical sense of tranquility cannot be ignored. It is one of the most unique experiences one can ever have, as this particular house of God, is like no other.

Credits: Sumedha Bharpilania

As I passed through the giant doors, I had no idea as to what lay ahead of me- all I could see was faces covered in awe and reverence- with eyes being the most conspicuous.Vast windows threw beams of sunlight into the subdued background and there was a silence that haunted. As I became more aware of my surroundings, I was overwhelmed by what I saw and what I felt. Beauty surrounded me and a warmth washed over my being despite the cold walls and floors. The stone spoke for itself, the carvings with unimaginable detail stood out in every feature with Gods and angels I knew nothing about being engraved on the pillars, walls and the ceiling. The pulpit was prominent, even from a distance and the statues had a touch of heaven in them. The lights and the bright candles, lit by fervent believers added to the grace. The nave seemed never-ending and the altar looked like a religious ceremony had just been consummated there.I made my way to the catacombs underneath which housed bones of deceased kings and it augmented the mystical elements pervading the place. However, the elegance and charm of the cathedral overpowered every form of occultism.
Cameras clicked away, the people around me prayed, some watched and some stood like me- lost in trance and beyond words for what they witnessed. Till date, I cannot describe whatever it was that had taken control of my senses. God seemed to have been physically present or maybe I was hypnotized.
Whether it was God or some being I have no knowledge of, the hypnosis does have a justification- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was buried here.”

Credits: Sumedha Bharpilania

3 comments on “Divine intervention or just a state of trance?

  1. Lata Jha
    December 14, 2011

    I’m pretty much in a trance myself..your work is amazing, Sumedha 🙂

  2. Hemul Goel
    December 15, 2011

    Pretty cool ending, that’s a nice read adn the pictures are unboubtedly amazing! Gothic architecture is my favourite subjects in architecture.

  3. Sumedha
    December 17, 2011

    Thank you Lata and Hemul 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2011 by in Photostories.

Site Stats

  • 67,790 hits

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers

You can e-mail us at

